Simple White Bread- Bread Machine

20140114-153357.jpg

Growing up I remember my mom making bread in her bread machine. I loved the smell of fresh baked bread in the morning. And of course it tastes so much better and is better for you than the preservative filled bread from the store.
So when I got a bread machine as a wedding gift I was super pumped to make my own bread! I made a loaf using one of the recipes from the instruction book. FAIL oh man oh man oh man… It was super dense, tasted…ok……but pretty much stunk.
So last night, after about a month of trying to recover from the first attempt I tried again. I took my moms advice and used recipes from the King Arthur Flour website. It turned out amazing!
I was so excited this morning that I was literally dancing around my apartment.
It’s a simple white bread recipe and Oh. So. Good.

Ingredients 1.5-2 lb loaf

  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 3/4 cup lukewarm milk (I used almond milk)
  • 3 Tbs butter or margarine
  • 3 3/4 cups enriched all purpose flour
  • 3 Tbs sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast

Directions
Put all of the ingredients in your bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. My bread machine had me out them in the order listed above, it also has me make a little duvet in the flour to out the yeast in.
Set it on a basic white bread setting and let the magic happen! I put this all together before I went to bed and we had fresh bread for breakfast YUM!

signature

Leave a comment