Homemade Chicken and Noodles

It’s been really rainy here the first few weeks of spring. I’ve been wanting to make soups but haven’t been home at all to do it! So, today after sleeping a bajillion hours (after working the Illinois Marathon all day yesterday and then chaperoning a prom!) I decided today was the day to make one of my FAVORITE soups! Mmm chicken and noodles!

This recipe takes a while but oh. my. gosh it is so worth it. I always make a huge batch and just eat it throughout the week. Ultimate comfort food 🙂 I also got this recipe from The Pioneer Woman, who has some of my absolutely favorite recipes! You could be an overachiever and make your own egg noodles (which I want to do one day), but, these Reames egg noodles are some of the best I’ve found! You can find them in the freezer section and I promise you, you will not regret buying them!

IMG_1207

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole cut up fryer chicken
  • 2-3 whole carrots, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Tumeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon White Pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Thyme
  • 2 teaspoons Parsley flakes
  • 16 oz frozen Reames noodles
  • 3 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

Directions:

To get started. Throw your whole fryer chicken in a pot, and cover it with about 4 quarts of water. I personally do about half water, half chicken broth, but that’s my own personal preference. Bring to boil, reduce heat to low, simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove chicken, with two forks, remove as much meat from the bone as you can, place the bones back in the pot, cover, and simmer for 45 minutes. Shred the remaining meat and set aside. Yummy.

IMG_1206

When the broth is almost done simmering, dice the carrots, celery, and onion (if using). I also like to get all of my herbs and spices ready as well.

IMG_1205

Remove bones with a slotted spoon, making sure to get any little bones that may have detached while simmering. Add the carrots, onion, celery, herbs and spices. Stir to combine, let simmer for about 10 minutes to combine.

Increase heat and add the frozen egg noodles and chicken. Cook for 8 to 10 minutes.

IMG_1211

Mix flour with a little water, stir until smooth. Pour into soup, stir to combine, let simmer for another 5 minutes. The broth should thicken a little bit.

IMG_1212

Now it’s time to eat! Enjoy!

IMG_1215

Leave a comment